How Many Parliaments Does Belgium Have?

Chris Morris goes on a tour of Belgium’s seven different parliaments Politics in Belgium is never simple. In fact it’s a Rubik’s cube of parliamentary complexity. As Britain embarks on a wide-ranging debate about devolution in the aftermath of the Scottish referendum on independence, is the Belgian route a good one to follow?
Belgian Federal Parliament

Federal Parliament Dutch: Federaal Parlement French: Parlement fédéral German: Föderales Parlament
Chamber political groups Government (87) PS (19) MR (14) Ecolo (13) CD&V (12) Open Vld (12) Vooruit (9) Groen (8) Opposition (63) N-VA (24) VB (18) PVDA-PTB (12) LE (5) DéFI (2) Independent (2)

How many chambers are there in the Belgian parliament?

The Federal Parliament of Belgium is composed of two chambers: the Chamber of Representatives and the Senate. The 150 Members of the Chamber of Representatives are directly elected via universal suffrage.

How will Belgium vote in the European Parliament on 25 May?

On 25 May, the Belgians will vote not just for their 21 members of the European Parliament, but – following constitutional reforms – for their regional and national parliaments as well. Until this year, the regional and national contests were not simultaneous.

How many governments and parliaments do we have in Belgium?

Belgium has 1 federal government and 5 regional governments. Each government has a number of ministers with their own powers.

Does Belgium have parliament?

The Belgian Federal Parliament consists of the Senate (Dutch: Senaat, French: Sénat) and the Chamber of Representatives (Dutch: Kamer van Volksvertegenwoordigers, French: Chambre des Représentants). The Chamber has 150 members; the Senate has 60.

See also:  Wanneer Is Club Brugge Kampioen?

Are there 3 community governments in Belgium?

In addition to the three Regions, the Federal State has three Communities. They are based on the ‘language’. So we talk about the Flemish, French and German-speaking Communities.

Is Belgium presidential or parliamentary?

Bicameralism in Belgium between 1831 and 1993

Since its inception, in 1830, Belgium has always had a bicameral parliamentary system. Parliament consists of two assemblies, the House of Representatives and the Senate, which are independent one from another and which both represent the Nation.

What are the 6 governments in Belgium?


  • Federal government. 1.1 Changes in composition.
  • Flemish government. 2.1 Changes.
  • Government of the French Community.
  • Government of the German-speaking Community.
  • Walloon Government.
  • Government of the Brussels-Capital Region. 6.1 Composition 2019-
  • See also.
  • External links.
  • Why is Belgium so divided?

    The border which emerged after the Dutch Revolt and the Eighty Years’ War split the Seventeen Provinces into the Dutch Republic and the Spanish Netherlands. In particular Brabant and Flanders were divided into northern and southern components.

    What is Belgium most known for?

    Belgium is famous for Manneken Pis, the Atomium, the Flower Carpet, and countless beer sorts and chocolates. Its main city is the Capital of Europe and its second-largest town – the Diamond Capital of the World. Belgium is also known for its creative minds, thousands of castles, and highways lit at night.

    What is the name of Parliament of Belgium?

    The Federal Parliament of Belgium is composed of two chambers: the Chamber of Representatives and the Senate.

    What is the third government in Belgium?

    Solution : Apart from central and the state government there is a third kind of government viz community government elected by people belonging to one language community – Dutch, French and German-speaking – no matter where they live.

    See also:  Combien De Marocain A Bruxelles?

    How many states are there in Belgium?

    Belgium is divided into 10 provinces. Each province has a capital. Brussels is the capital of Belgium.

    Is Belgium still a monarchy?

    Belgium is a ‘hereditary parliamentary constitutional monarchy’.

    Is Belgium a good place to live?

    Belgium is a very family-friendly country to live in. It has good educational, healthcare, and cultural facilities in all the main cities. Belgium is generally quite a safe place to live. Brussels has many municipalities popular with young families and the city has some of the best international schools.

    Why is Belgium Head of EU?

    The main rationale for Brussels being chosen as ‘capital the European Union’ was its halfway location between France and Germany, the two countries whose rivalry led to the two World Wars and whose reconciliation paved the way for European integration.

    What are the three levels of government in Belgium?

    Belgium has three tiers of SNGs: 6 federated states, including 3 regional governments (Flanders, Wallonia and the Brussels capital-region) and 3 community governments (Flemish, German, and French Speaking Communities) which overlap territorially; 10 provinces; and 589 municipalities which are governed by regional

    How many airports are in Belgium?

    This also means direct flights for you to the many destinations both in Europe and overseas. Belgium has five airports offering passenger services: Brussels – Zaventem. Ostend.

    How long does Belgium have no government?

    It also ended what was believed to be the longest period in which a country has been without an elected government, at 589 days; Leterme had been serving as caretaker prime minister since his resignation on 26 April 2010.

    See also:  How Much Taxes Do You Pay In Belgium?

    Which type of government does the Belgium have class 10?

    Belgium is a federal, parliamentary, representative, democratic, constitutional monarchy. The country became independent in 1830.

    What are the different types of government in Belgium?

    This is a list of the Belgian federal, regional, and community governments. The Belgian Federal Government is the executive branch of the whole Kingdom of Belgium . The Flemish Government is the executive branch of both the Flemish Region and the Flemish Community.

    What are the regions of Belgium?

    So we refer to (from north to south) the Flemish Region, the Brussels-Capital Region and the Walloon Region. The Regions have legislative and executive organs: these are known as the Regional Parliament and the Regional Government.

    How many senators are elected in Belgium?

    40 Senators are directly elected in three constituencies, those being the Flanders constituency, the Walloon constituency and the bilingual Brussels-Halle-Vilvoorde constituency. The French-speaking voters elect 15 Senators. The Dutch-speaking voters elect 25 Senators.

    Leave a Comment

    Your email address will not be published.